(OOC)(IC) CK’s Blog Banter #22: A Fighter’s Heart

Welcome to the twenty-second installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week or so to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!


This month topic is brought to us by L’Dene Bean of Nitpickin’s who asks: Why, and how did you pick your corporation? Is your loyalty solid or just until a better placed organization “recruits” you. The shorter version:  Who holds your Unshakable Fealty and why?

I do this post in both OOC and IC…

(OOC)

As I relayed a few times before, I’ve been quite interested in the EvE story and mythos for longer than I have actually been playing the game. During my search for epic epicness, I happened across stories of the Ushra’Khan. The idea of a player alliance of such size and power known for their role-playing pedigree set a fire in me. I didn’t just want to play EvE… I wanted to be one of them. I wanted to fly not for ISK or glory, but for a cause that lay in the heart of both myself and my wingmates.

When I got into the game, I had to jump through a lot of hoops to be accepted. I was taken under the wing of an amazing woman and shown the way of things. Eventually they saw that I was quite eager to learn, as well as proud to uphold their honourable RP traditions.

Through the years I’ve beamed with pride telling people who I fly with, been glued to any news report that even vaguely mentioned us, cheered our team through alliance tournaments and kept the faith as we were struck down and rose again as Damu’Khonde. I even had real dogtags made with the Ushra’Khan name on them.

I could never imagine flying with better people.

I would not have it any other way.

(IC)

I go where I am needed. Beyond all else, need for me is what drives my movement through this galaxy. People may not always know they need me, or know of a need but not how to find its answer, but it draws me regardless.

Moving in such a fashion has not always been a skill of mine. Before my father revealed my past to me, I really had no purpose, but I honed myself for something I could not describe, something just outside my perception.

When I found the elders, I acted as their instrument, going and doing and learned all I could, but again the purpose lay just beyond me.

The day I came to the Ushra’Khan, I found my calling and it found me. I saw people who were alone and afraid even after being rescued. They were in need of guidance, of simple hope. The Ushra’Khan gave me the ability to find those that needed me most, and deal harsh punishment to those who would enslave my lost brothers and sisters. The U’K was certainly mighty, but they lacked the spiritual core that the Elders knew would make them truly great. That connection to our true history. We must fight in the name of more than just freedom. We now fight to be a whole people again.

Some ask why we must live outside the law to protect the people we love, and in response we ask them who better to fight the darkness than those that thrive in it. We are the expendable army blessed by our gods, decried by our senate and loved by our people.

I am the mindful heart that guides that bloody fist.

That is my path.

I would not have it any other way.

~ by psychediver on 10/27/2010.

One Response to “(OOC)(IC) CK’s Blog Banter #22: A Fighter’s Heart”

  1. Awesome response to topic. I understand and appreciate your sentiment.

Leave a Reply

 
